Skip to content

PMSE Distinguished Service Award

Started in 1993, the PMSE Distinguished Service Award is given to recognize extensive, sustained contributions and service to the Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering (PMSE) Division.

Nominations and Award Process

PMSE Councilors

NameAffiliationEmailCouncilors Term
Dean WebsterNorth Dakota State University[Email]2021-2023
A. Jay DiasFormely ExxonMobil[Email]2022-2024
Julie L. P. JessopMississippi State University[Email]2022-2024
Christopher L. SolesNIST[Email]2023-2025
Charles E. CarraherFlorida Atlantic University[Email]Alternative 2021-2023
John W. GilmerKing University[Email]Alternative 2021-2023
Michael JaffeNJ Innovation Institute[Email]Alternative 2022-2024
Michael S. SilversteinTechnion-Israel Institute of Technology[Email]Alternative 2023-2025


PMSE Members-At-Large

NameAffiliationEmailMembers At Large Term
Padma GopalanUniversity of Wisconsin[Email]2022-2023
Christian PesterThe Pennsylvania State University[Email]2022-2023
Rafael VerduzcoRice University[Email]2022-2023
Enrique GomezThe Pennsylvania State University[Email]2023-2024
Hyunki Kim3M Corporate Research Laboratory[Email]2023-2024
Matthew WebberUniversity of Notre Dame[Email]2023-2024

Technical Committee

Short Description
Social Links
Dhriti Nepal
Air Force Research Laboratory

Technical Programming Committee

YuanQiao Rao

Technical Programming Committee

Davita Watkins
Ohio State University

Technical Programming Committee


Award Selection Committees


Award CommitteeNameAffiliationE-mail
ACS Fellowship Selection Co-ChairMeisha ShofnerGeorgia Institute of Technology[Email]
Distinguished Service Award, ChairQinghuang LinLam Research Corporation[Email]
Cooperative Research Award, ChairHoward Creel3M Center[Email]
Distinguished Service AwardDean WebsterNorth Dakota State University[Email]
Distinguished Service AwardBenny FreemanUniversity of Texas at Austin[Email]
Doolittle AwardAlexa S. KuenstlerUniversity of Colorado Boulder[Email]
Doolittle AwardRachel A. LetteriUniversity of Virginia[Email]
Doolittle AwardAdrianne M. RosalesThe University of Texas at Austin[Email]
Doolittle AwardAbhishek RoyNational Renewable Energy Laboratory[Email]
Eastman Chemical Student Award ChairKelly BurkeUniversity of Connecticut[Email]
Eastman Chemical Student AwardJohn W. GilmerKing University[Email]
Eastman Chemical Student AwardThomas HahnShurTape[Email]
Eastman Chemical Student AwardJason JenkinsEastman Chemical Company[Email]
PMSE Fellowship SelectionGustavo A. CarriExxonMobil Technology & Engineering Co.[Email]
PMSE Fellowship SelectionVivek PrabhuNIST[Email]
PMSE Fellowship SelectionShu YangUniversity of Pennsylvania[Email]
PMSE Global Graduate Student/Mentor Award Co-ChairMichael J. A. HoreCase Western Reserve University[Email]
PMSE Global Graduate Student/Mentor Award Co-ChairLaShanda KorleyUniversity of Delaware[Email]
PMSE Graduate Student Travel Award Chair, ACS Fellowship Selection Co-ChairDaniel SavinUniversity of Florida[Email]
Roy W. Tess AwardJamil BaghdachiEastern Michigan University[Email]

Liasons to Other Groups


Liaison ToNameAffiliationEmail
ACS Multidisciplinary Program PlanningEva HarthUniversity of Houston[Email]
Biotechnology (BTEC Secretariat)Jamil BaghdachiEastern Michigan University[Email]
International Advisory Committee Co-ChairMichael S. SilversteinTechnion-Israel Institute of Technology[Email]
International Advisory Committee Co-ChairZhihao ShenPeking University[Email]
Liaison to the Biomaterials SocietyErin LavikUniversity of Maryland, Baltimore County[Email]
Macromolecular (MACR) SecretariatJavid RzayevUniversity at Buffalo[Email]
YCC Liaison to PMSEBhavya SinghiZeus Industrial Products, Inc.[Email]

Support Committees and Liasons


By-LawsMalancha GuptaUniversity of Southern California[Email]
Finance & InvestmentCristina Thomas3M CompanyCorporate R&D[Email]
Finance & Investment Chair; Symposium FundingA. Jay DiasFormely ExxonMobil[Email]
MACRO (Macromolecular Alliance for Community, Resources, and Outreach)Bhavya SinghiZeus Industrial Products, Inc.[Email]
MACRO (Macromolecular Alliance for Community, Resources, and Outreach)Charles E. CarraherFlorida Atlantic UniversityDepartment of Chemistry & Biochemistry[Email]
MACRO (Macromolecular Alliance for Community, Resources, and Outreach) Co-ChairPhilip CostanzoCalifornia Polytechnic & State UniversityDepartment of Chemistry & Biochemistry[Email]
MACRO (Macromolecular Alliance for Community, Resources, and Outreach) Co-ChairElizabeth S. SternerLebanon Valley College[Email]
MembershipRong YangCornell University[Email]
Membership ChairDavita WatkinsOhio State University[Email]
PMSE Corner ChairBindu KrishnanThe Dow Chemical Company[Email]
PMSE CornerEileen ErnstPMSE[Email]
PMSE CornerHee Jeung OhPennsylvania State University[Email]
PMSE CornerHyunki Kim3M Corporate Research Laboratory[Email]
PMSE CornerEnrique GomezPenn State University[Email]
PMSE CornerAbhishek SheteDow[Email]
PMSE CornerSamanvaya SrivastavaUniversity of California – Los AngelesDepartment of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering[Email]
PMSE CornerHuaxing (Daniel) ZhouEvonik[Email]
PMSE/POLY Student ChaptersDaniel SavinUniversity of FloridaDepartment of Chemistry[Email]
Volunteer PipelineJason BenkoskiThe Johns Hopkins UniversityApplied Physics Laboratory[Email]
Volunteer PipelineLaura BradleyUniversity of Massachusetts[Email]
Volunteer PipelineRobert HickeyPenn State University[Email]
Webinar ChairMichael S. SilversteinTechnion-Israel Institute of TechnologyDepartment of Materials Science &[Email]
WebinarRachel A. LetteriUniversity of VirginiaDepartment of Chemical Engineering[Email]
WebinarDominik KonkolewiczMiami UniversityDepartment of Chemistry & Biochemistry[Email]
WebmasterPeter JohnsonSABIC[Email]
Young Polymer Scientist & EngineerLuis CamposColumbia UniversityDepartment of Chemistry[Email]
Young Polymer Scientist & EngineerJamie M. GarciaIBM Almaden Research Center[Email]
Young Polymer Scientist & EngineerMelissa A. GrunlanTexas A & M UniversityDepartment of Biomedical Engineering[Email]
Young Polymer Scientist & EngineerEmily PentzerTexas A&M University[Email]
Young Polymer Scientist & EngineerChristian PesterThe Pennsylvania State UniversityDepartment of Chemical Engineering[Email]


Timothy BunningAir Force Research Laboratory[Email]
Adam B. BurnsExxonMobil Research & Engineering[Email]
Kevin CavicchiUniversity of Akron[Email]
Elizabeth Cosgriff-HernandezUniversity of Texas[Email]
Honggang CuiThe Johns Hopkins University[Email]
Cher DavisNIST[Email]
Chris EllisonUniversity of Minnesota[Email]
Todd EmrickUniversity of Massachusetts[Email]
Nagarjuna GavvalapalliGeorgetown University[Email]
Jaime C. GrunlanTexas A & M University[Email]
Zhiqun LinNational University of Singapore[Email]
Kenny MineartBucknell University[Email]
Anjali PatilChanel, Inc.[Email]
Theodore ProvderPolymer and Coatings Consultants, LLC[Email]
Chad SnyderNIST[Email]
Christopher M. StaffordNIST[Email]
Bryan D. VogtThe Pennsylvania State University[Email]