Philadelphia 2020

Celebrating 50 Years of Polymer Science at ExxonMobil’s Corporate Research Laboratories

Established 50 years ago, ExxonMobil’s corporate research laboratories have taken a fundamental approach towards meeting longer term challenges for the energy and polymer industries.  In addition to significant internal work in areas such as polymerization, blend thermodynamics, molecular rheology, and functional polymers, ExxonMobil’s Corporate Strategic Research Laboratory (CSR) and its predecessor organizations have maintained broad and mutually beneficial collaborations with the external research community in the polymer synthesis, theory, and structure-property fields.  As the polymer community mobilizes to meet the challenges of the next 50 years, this symposium will highlight contributions to polymer science and chemistry from CSR and its external collaborators. 

Advances in Functionalized Polyolefin Synthesis 

The symposium will address the rapidly expanding research area in the field of functionalized polyolefins, highlighting new concepts and catalysts in the effort to form random and block copolymers containing polar monomers in a facile manner. Polar monomer incorporation in polyolefins is highly desired to broaden their scope of properties and applications which supports recent efforts in waste plastic recycling, energy storage, and smart material design. The incorporation of these polar monomers is challenged due to their contrary reactivity as compared to olefin monomers and has initiated creative approaches and pathways for overcoming the disparate polymerization reactions. The subject of this symposium will be to connect the most active and innovative researchers in this area to discuss recent forthcomings.  

Polymers for the Environment

Organizers Margaret Sobkowicz-Kline, University of Massachusetts Lowell Wan-Ting Chen, University of Massachusetts Lowell

Bio-inspired Macromolecular Materials

Organizers Matthew Webber, University of Notre Dame Phillip Messersmith, University of California Berkeley Sébastien Lecommandoux, Université Bordeaux Neha Kamat, Northwestern University