Skip to content

2018 Eastman Chemical Student Award Winner – Jeffrey Lopez

The PMSE Division is pleased to announce that Dr. Jeffrey Lopez is the winner of the 2018 Eastman Chemical Student Award in Applied Polymer Science.  This Award, sponsored by Eastman Chemical Company and administered by the PMSE Division, is given for the best paper presented at the Eastman Chemical Award Symposium as part of the PMSE program at the Fall 2018 National ACS Meeting in Boston.  The Eastman Chemical Award Program represents a key program of PMSE Division with a distinguished list of sponsors and award winners since its inception as the Sherwin Williams Student Award in 1985.

Dr. Lopez completed his doctorate in Chemical Engineering at Stanford University where his Ph.D. advisor was Professor Zhenan Bao.  Dr. Lopez is currently employed as a postdoctoral associate in the Research Laboratory of Electronics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.  The title of his paper, presented at the recent Fall ACS Meeting in Boston, MA was “Understanding the Influence of Polymer Properties on the Stability of High Capacity Silicon and Lithium Metal Anodes.” The other finalists who presented at the Award Symposium were Dr. Xiaoran Hu (Tufts University), Sandra Pittelli (Georgia Institute of Technology), Johanna Schwartz (University of Washington), and Zhongbo Zhang (Case Western Reserve University).

As the 2018 Eastman Chemical Student Award Winner, Dr. Lopez will be will be presented with an award plaque and a check for $1600 at the Joint PMSE/POLY Awards Reception at the Spring 2019 ACS Meeting in Orlando, FL.