Skip to content

2020 Award Winner for the Eastman Chemical Student Award in Applied Polymer Science

Monica Ohnsorg
University of Minnesota

The PMSE Division is pleased to announce that Monica Ohnsorg is the winner of the 2020 Eastman Chemical Student Award in Applied Polymer Science.  This award, sponsored by Eastman Chemical Company and administered by the PMSE Division, is given for the best paper presented at the Eastman Chemical Award Symposium as part of the PMSE program. The rescheduled 2020 Eastman Chemical Student Award Symposium was held at the Spring 2021 National ACS Meeting. Monica L. Ohnsorg, a graduate researcher at the University of Minnesota, was selected as the 2020 award winner from a group of six presenters.  She highlighted her outstanding PhD research, under the direction of Professor Theresa M Reineke, on the development of polymers for enhanced drug delivery, with the title “Thermoresponsive Bottlebrush Polymers for Oral Drug Delivery:  Influence of End-Group Hydrophobicity and Hydrophilicity.” 

The other finalists who presented at the Award Symposium were Evan Lloyd (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), Eric Bruckner (Northwestern University), David Mackanic (Stanford), Dylan Barber (University of Massachusetts Amherst), and Junzhe Lou (Stanford).