Skip to content

Journal of Polymer Science Innovation Award to Prof. Dr. Athina Anastaski

Athina Anastasaki
ETH Zurich

Since its inception in 2012, the Journal of Polymer Science Innovation Award recognizes polymer scientists under the age of 40 and celebrates their significant research innovations and achievements in the field.  Winners are recognized at a symposium in association with PMSE at the ACS Fall meeting. The editors of the Journal of Polymer Science and the Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering (PMSE) Division of the American Chemical Society (ACS) are delighted to present the 2024 Journal of Polymer Science Innovation Award to Prof. Dr. Athina Anastaski.

Athina was born and raised in Athens, Greece (with a very proud origin from Crete) and obtained her B.S. in Chemistry at the University of Athens. She then commenced her PhD studied with Professor Dave Haddleton at the University of Warwick and graduated in late 2014 with the Jon Weaver Award for the best PhD in Polymer Chemistry in the UK. In early 2015, she accepted a Monash-Warwick research fellow position between the Pharmaceutical department at Monash University and the University of Warwick, jointly supervised by Professor Thomas Davis and Professor Dave Haddleton. She then received an Elings Fellowship, followed by a Global Marie Curie Fellowship, to conduct research with Professor Craig Hawker at UCSB. Athina joined the Materials department of ETH in January 2019 as an Assistant Professor and her group focuses on polymer synthesis and chemical recycling.