Chemistry of Materials Lectureship and Best Paper Award


Recognizes the authors of an article published in an issue of Chemistry of Materials in the year preceding the due date for nominations. This lectureship underlines the fact that research is a team endeavor, and thus the main goal is to emphasize the importance of, and celebrate the contributions of, co-authors.


This annual award was established by and is sponsored by Chemistry of Materials. It is coordinated with the ACS Divisions of PMSE and Inorganic Chemistry.


For the lead author, the award consists of a $2,500 prize and plaque. In addition, up to $2000 for travel and lodging costs may be shared by up to two of the winning article’s co-authors. Sharing of the $2500 award between one or more lead authors is permitted. The recipients shall attend the Fall National ACS Meeting’s “Chemistry of Materials Lectureship and Best Paper Award Symposium”. This symposium shall be held the same year the winner is selected and will be hosted alternately by the PMSE and Inorganic Chemistry Divisions. This symposium will feature two award presentations by co-authors of the winning article, and talks by several invited speakers chosen by the Editor-in-Chief with the approval of the Divisions’ Chairs. When the symposium is hosted by PMSE, the award plaque will be presented at the PMSE Award Ceremony and Reception.


The authors of a paper published in Chemistry of Materials can self-nominate their article for consideration for this award. The nomination package should include:

(1) a nomination letter written and signed by all co-authors describing the role of the team in the research described in the paper;
(2) CV of the lead author and the corresponding author;
(3) a copy of the article;
(4) indication of the division the paper is affiliated;
(5) An award citation of 15 words or less.

Please submit your nomination to:

Deadline for Application

January 31 for papers published in the preceding year dated between January 1 and December 31.


The winning article will be selected by a committee of five individuals, consisting of the Editor-in-Chief or her designee from the Associate Editors of the journal, two Editorial Advisory Board members from the journal as appointed by the Editor-in-Chief, and the Chair and Past-Chair of the Division hosting the Award in a particular year. The wining papers should be announced on or before April 30.

Past Winners

2018: Darren Lipomi, Mohammad A. Alkhadra, and Samuel E. Root. “Quantifying the Fracture Behavior of Brittle and Ductile thin Films of Semiconducting Polymers,” Chemistry of Materials.

2017: Zhen Li, Mengjin Yang, Ji-Sang Park, Su-Huai Wei, Joseph J. Berry, and Kai Zhu. Chemistry of Materials.

2016, 28 (1), pp 284–292: “Stabilizing Perovskite Structures by Tuning Tolerance Factor: Formation of Formamidinium and Cesium Lead Iodide Solid-State Alloys”.