Global Outstanding Student Award in Polymer Science and Engineering


Sponsored by the Chemical Marketing & Economics Topical Group of the American Chemical Society’s New York Section (CME), the Award recognizes two USA or international graduate students within one year to graduation or a recent graduate who has completed an outstanding thesis in polymer research accepted by a university during the three-year period prior to January 1 of the award year. The purpose of the award is to disseminate globally the knowledge of polymer research. A unique concept of the Award is to bring to the ACS convention not just the winning student but the related role model such as the thesis advisor.


The inaugural Award will be distributed in 2019.


The award winner will receive a $2,000 cash prize and a commemorative plaque to be presented at the PMSE Division Awards Reception in the Spring ACS meeting of the Award year. This Award also covers expenses for the student and one guest to attend the ACS National Meeting (the total cost is up to $3,500 for international winners or $2,500 for domestic winners). Eligible guests are the thesis advisor, the department chair, the university president, or an officer of the country’s chemical society. The research advisor will also be recognized in publications about the award and during the award presentation.

Nomination and Selection

Nominations must be made by the university thesis supervisor or by others familiar with the nominee’s work. Nominating documents must be in English and include the nominee’s biography, a synopsis of the work, a letter of recommendation from the thesis advisor, thesis-relevant publications, supporting documents of any type (e.g. additional letters of recommendation from collaborators), and a passport valid for two years and USA visa eligibility in countries without travel bans or alerts by the US Department of State.  Nominees will be judged by a selection committee for their contribution to the thesis research, the quality and level of innovation, and the impact of the research on the field of polymer science and engineering.  A PDF file of the nomination package should be sent via email by October 1 prior to the award year to Honggang Cui (email). For more information, please contact: Honggang Cui, Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, The Johns Hopkins University, 221 Maryland Hall, 3400 N. Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218, United States. Phone: +001-(410)-516-6878

Deadline for Application

October 1, 2018 – for consideration of the 2019 Award to be presented in the 257th ACS National Meeting (Orlando, FL)

October 1, 2019 – for consideration of the 2020 Award to be presented in the 259th ACS National Meeting (Philadelphia, PA)

October 1, 2020 – for consideration of the 2021 Award to be presented in the 261st ACS National Meeting (San Antonio, TX)