Bioconjugate Chemistry Lectureship


The Bioconjugate Chemistry Lecturship recognizes an outstanding researcher for important recent advances in interfacing synthetic and biological systems.


The Bioconjugate Chemistry Lectureship award consists of a $3000 prize, a plaque, registration and $1500 maximum travel allowance to attend the Fall ACS National Meeting for the award presentation and to give a lecture at the “Bioconjugate Chemistry Lectureship and Award Symposium.”  The winner is also expected to submit a review or topical review to Bioconjugate Chemistry, which will be subjected to peer review.


This award was established by Bioconjugate Chemistry in 2016.  Bioconjugate Chemistry is a peer reviewed journal published by the American Chemical Society.  In 2016 and 2017, the award was managed through the ACS Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry.


The award is granted to emerging or established researchers, and nominations are welcome from all sectors of industry, government and academia.


Nominations are to be submitted to Vincent M. Rotello through a web form that will be advertised on the homepage. The application deadline is February 28th, but subject to change.

The nomination should be submitted as a single pdf file consisting of the following items: (1) a nomination letter that succinctly describes the impact of the individual’s research accomplishments, (2) a second letter from another individual who is familiar with the nominees works, (3) a five-page CV that should include: education, appointments, honors & awards, and a list of up to 25 relevant publications and (4) a tentative lecture title and abstract (300 words or less).

The selection will be made by a four-member committee consisting of three individuals selected by the Editor-in-Chief of Bioconjugate Chemistry and two selected by the Chair of the PMSE Division.

2020 Award Winner: Professor Jason S. Lewis

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Bioconjugate Chemistry and the ACS Division of Polymeric Materials Science and Engineering (PMSE) are pleased to announce the recipient of this year’s 2020 Bioconjugate Chemistry Lectureship Award.  Please join us in congratulating Professor Jason S. Lewis, Ph.D., of the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (MSK) in New York. 

Jason S. Lewis is currently the Emily Tow Jackson Chair in Oncology at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (MSK) in New York. He is the Chief Attending of the Radiochemistry & Imaging Sciences Service and serves as the Vice Chair of Research in the Department of Radiology at MSK. He holds a joint appointment in the Molecular Pharmacology Program, and he is the Director of the Radiochemistry & Molecular Imaging Probe Core in the Sloan-Kettering Institute. He also holds appointments as a Professor at the Gerstner Sloan-Kettering Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, New York, NY and the Weill Cornell Medical College, Cornell University, New York, NY. He is an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Biomedical Imaging and Image Guided Therapy, The Medical University of Vienna, Vienna, Austria. 

Lewis earned a B.Sc. in Chemistry (1992) and a M.Sc. (1993) in Chemistry from the University of Essex and then in 1996 obtained a Ph.D. in Biochemistry from the University of Kent with Professor Philip J. Blower. His postdoctoral work was with Professors Carolyn J. Anderson and Michael J. Welch at the Washington University School of Medicine (WUSM).  Subsequently he joined the WUSM faculty as an Assistant Professor of Radiology at the Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology (2003-2008). Professor Lewis then joined MSK in 2008. 

Professor Lewis’ research program is a molecular imaging-based program focused on radiopharmaceutical development as well as the study of multimodality (PET, CT & MRI) small- and biomolecule-based agents and their clinical translation. He has worked on the development of small molecules targeting aberrant metabolism, as well as radiolabeled peptides and antibodies probing the overexpression of receptors and antigens on tumors. His research interests are focused on the development of new molecular imaging agents for the diagnosis and treatment of cancer. He has published >300 papers and reviews in the field of radiochemistry and molecular imaging.

The Bioconjugate Chemistry Lectureship Award is presented annually to recognize outstanding researchers for important recent advances in interfacing synthetic and biological systems. Jason S. Lewis joins a prestigious class of past recipients, including Heather D. MaynardWolfgang J. ParakMatthew B. Francis and Xiaoyuan Chen. “Jason Lewis is a highly innovative, driving force in the rapidly evolving and critical field of radiopharmaceuticals” says Vincent Rotello, Ph.D., Editor-in-Chief of Bioconjugate Chemistry.

Selected Work

A Systematic Evaluation of Antibody Modification and 89Zr-Radiolabeling for Optimized Immuno-PET

Multimodal Positron Emission Tomography Imaging to Quantify Uptake of 89Zr-Labeled Liposomes in the Atherosclerotic Vessel Wall

Bioorthogonal Masking of Circulating Antibody–TCO Groups Using Tetrazine-Functionalized Dextran Polymers

Click Chemistry and Radiochemistry: The First 10 Years

PET Imaging of Extracellular pH in Tumors with 64Cu- and 18F-Labeled pHLIP Peptides: A Structure–Activity Optimization Study

Dr. Jason Lewis

Past Winners

Including Lectureship Reviews

2019 Heather Maynard, University of California, Los Angeles

2018 Wolfgang J. Parak, University of Hamburg

2017 Matthew Francis, University of California, Berkeley

2016 Xiaoyuan (Shawn) Chen, National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering, NIH
Topical review: Amphiphilic-Polymer-Guided Plasmonic Assemblies and Their Biomedical Applications