Skip to content

Cooperative Research Award in Polymer Science and Engineering


The Cooperative Research Award in Polymer Science and Engineering is given to recognize the cooperative research between industrial and academic or industrial and national laboratory scientists. The cooperative research must be of significant importance to polymer science and technology.


This award can be an individual award or can be shared by a team comprised of an academic and an industrial scientist or a scientist from national laboratory and an industrial scientist. (Teams of more than two people may be considered.) The awardee(s) is(are) expected to give a lecture at the Spring ACS National Meeting. The award is composed of a $5000 prize, which will be split equally if there are two (or more) awardees. There will also be a plaque, and up to a total of $3000 travel allowance (not to exceed $1500 per person), which can be split equally if there are two (or more) awardees, to attend the meeting, give the lecture, and to be presented with the award.


The award was originally established in the fall of 1992 and is supported by a generous gift from the Eastman Kodak Company.


The nominee(s) for this award must have a documented record (patents, publications, etc.) of sustained, intensive cooperative and collaborative research across the university/industry or national laboratory/industry interface.


Nominations are to be submitted by August 15 of each year to the Chair of the PMSE Cooperative Research Award Committee.

The nomination should include brief curriculum vitae of the candidate(s) and significant evidence of the collaborative research including supporting letter(s) explaining the significance of the research. If the research is carried out by a group of scientists from academia, national laboratory, or industry, the nomination should also highlight the contributions made by each researcher in the group.

Nominations will be reviewed by the PMSE Cooperative Research Award Committee.  The  2023 Cooperative Research Award deadline will be on August 15, 2022.  Please forward applications to Dr. Howard Creel, 3M [Email]

2022 Award Winners

Charles L.Liotta¹, Bharat I. Chaudhary², and Jeffrey M. Cogen²

¹ Georgia Institute of Technology, ² Dow Chemical Company

The collaborative research team is represented by Charles L.Liotta from the Georgia Institute of Technology along with Bharat I. Chaudhary and Jeffrey M. Cogen of the Dow Chemical Company.

The research trio of Liotta, Chaudhary, and Cogen represents a successful collaboration between academia and industry for approximately 14 years and is still ongoing. Their research covered a wide variety of areas including (a) fundamental studies of free radical-mediated graft modification of polyethylene models with vinyltrialkoxysilanes, (b) the development of novel additives for the thermal stabilization of poly(vinyl chloride) and (c) the mechanistic role of specific additives during the decomposition of dicumylperoxide in polyethylene models.  Overall, they have achieved success in the understanding of fundamental processes of interest to both industry and academia.

Charles L.Liotta, Georgia Institute of Technology
Bharat I. Chaudhary, Dow Chemical Company.
Jeffrey M. Cogen, Dow Chemical Company

Past Winners

From 1994


Jean M. J. Fréchet, Cornell University
Hiroshi Ito, IBM
C. Grant Willson, University of Texas at Austin, previously IBM


Leo Mandelkern, Florida State University
C. Stanley Speed and Ferdinand C. Stehling, Exxon Corp.


Ray H. Baughman, Allied-Signal


Henry K. Hall, Jr., University of Arizona


Lynda K. Johnson, DuPont
Maurice Brookhart, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill


Jose E. Valentini, Sterling Diagnostic Imaging
Yee C. Chiew, Leslie J. Fina, John Q. Jiang, Rutgers University


James A. Schwindeman, FMC Corporation
Roderic P. Quirk, University of Akron


P.S. Chum, Dow Chemical Company
Anne Hiltner, Case Western Reserve University


Benny Freeman, University of Texas at Austin
Ingo Pinnau, Membrane Technology and Research


Craig Hawker, IBM Almaden Research Center
Thomas Russell, University of Massachusetts, Amherst


Krzysztof Matyjaszewski, Carnegie Mellon University


Frank W. Harris, University of Akron
Bruce K. Winker, Rockwell International
Stephen Z. D. Cheng, University of Akron


Steven D. Smith, Proctor and Gamble
Richard J. Spontak, North Carolina State University


Alec Scranton, University of Iowa
Christopher Bowman, University of Colorado at Boulder
Joe Oxman, 3M Corporation
Michael Idacavage, Cytec Industries
John Woods, Henkel Corporation
Donald Herr, National Starch and Chemical


Frank S. Bates, University of Minnesota
Glenn H. Fredrickson, University of California, Santa Barbara
Edward J. Kramer, University of California, Santa Barbara
Dennis A. Hucul, Dow Chemical Company
Stephen F. Hahn, Dow Chemical Company


Robert M. Waymouth, Stanford University
James Hedrick, IBM Almaden Research Center


Nikos Hadjichristidis, University of Athens
David J. Lohse, ExxonMobil Co.


Timothy E. Long, Virginia Tech
Carl L. Willis, Kraton Polymers, LLC


Timothy Bunning, Air Force Research Laboratory
Timothy White, Air Force Research Laboratory
Nelson Tabiryan, BEAM Engineering


Emanuel Gianneliskern, Cornell University
Clois Powell, Texas State University
Gary Beal, Texas State University


Benjamin S. Hsiao, Stony Brook University
Andy H. Tsou, ExxonMobil Chemical Company


Brian Benicewicz, University of South Carolina
Gordon Calundann, Celanese Corporation


Edmund Elce, Promerus LLC/Sumitomo Bakelite Co. Ltd.
Paul A. Kohl, Georgia Institute of Technology


Dr. John Rabolt, University of Delaware, Formerly IBM Almaden Research Center
Dr. D. Bruce Chase, DuPont


Dr. Christopher Stafford, NIST 
Dr. Edwin Chan, NIST
Professor Michael Hickner, Penn State
Professor Coray Colina, University of Florida
Dr. James Sturnfield, Dow Chemical
Dr. Steven Rosenberg, Dow Chemical
Dr. Abhishek Roy, Dow Chemical


Professor Christopher Bowman, University of Colorado
Professor Timothy Scott, University of Michigan
Dr. Ahmed Abuelyaman, 3M
Dr. Peter Bissinger, 3M
Dr. Bradley Craig, 3M
Karsten Dede, 3M
Dr. Timothy Dunbar, 3M
Dr. Adrian Eckert, 3M
Dr. Babu Gaddam, 3M retiree
Dr. Guy Joly, 3M
Dr. Larry Krepski, 3M retiree
Dr. Joe Oxman, 3M


Eric W. Cochran, Iowa State University
Donald Sjogren, Seneca Petroleum
R. Christopher Williams, Iowa State University