Purpose of the Roy W. Tess Award

To recognize outstanding individual achievements and note-worthy contributions to coatings science, technology and engineering, confirming PMSE’s long-standing and continuing support and dedication to excellence in the science, technology and engineering of coatings.


The awardee will receive a $3000 prize, plaque and a $1500 maximum travel allowance to attend the Fall ACS National Meeting where a symposium is held in their honor and the award is presented.


The award was originally established in 1986 and is funded by a grant to the Division from Dr. and Mrs. Roy W. Tess.


The nominee(s) for this award must have a documented record of impactful individual achievements and contributions to coatings science, technology and engineering.


Nominations are welcome from all sectors of industry, government and academia by September 1 of each year. The  Tess Award Criteria and nomination procedure is available as a [PDF], listing the preferred contents and format for a nomination.  Nominations should be submitted to the Chair of the Roy W. Tess Award Committee.  Nominations will be reviewed by members of the Roy W. Tess Award Committee, PMSE Past Chair and additional reviewers selected by the committee. Each nomination will be considered viable during four award years following its receipt but must be renewed beyond that time.

The deadline for applications for the 2019 Roy W. Tess Award in Coatings: Deadline September 1, 2018 to Theodore Provder [E-mail].

2017 Award Winner: Dr. Stuart Croll

North Dakota State University, Department of Coatings and Polymeric Materials

Dr. Stuart Croll of the North Dakota State University, Department of Coatings and Polymeric Materials will receive the Roy W. Tess Award in Coatings for 2017.  The announcement was made by the Officers and the Award Committee of the Division of Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering (PMSE) of the American Chemical Society.

Prof. Croll obtained his Ph.D in Polymer Physics at the University of Leeds in the UK. He has worked in industry (Millennium Inorganic Chemicals, Sherwin Williams, Northern Telecom and Fosroc Construction Chemicals), in government laboratory (National Research Council, Canada) and academe (Eastern Michigan University and   North Dakota State University).

Prof. Croll has done research in a wide variety of areas from a polymer physicist’s perspective.  He has published over 95 technical papers. He has done major research on internal shrinkage stresses in coatings and the first to demonstrate the connection between coating solidification and the glass transition temperature as controlled by solvent content in the coating and its impact on coating adhesion. He also has studied the drying of latex films proposing that films form packed layers of latex in a fairly sudden transition to a solid film that was subsequently proven and is the accepted morphology of latex film formation. In studies of the molecular dynamics of crosslinked polymers, he showed how they deviate from the statistical theories of ideal network formation (Flory, Stockmayer, etc.). Furthermore he demonstrated that defects arise as an intrinsic part of the random timing and spatial distribution of reactions between the precursor chemicals and may have a significant effect on crosslink density and other properties, depending on the functionality and preparation conditions for the network.

In quantitative studies of degradation due to weathering of coatings Prof. Croll developed a stochastic model for deterioration in coating properties that links molecular scale damage to the effect on macroscopic properties such as gloss, toughness etc. via well-known models of physical properties.  This approach actually can provide a quantitative estimate of service lifetime.

Prof. Croll has done research in art conservation science, especially providing insight into the properties and durability of modern artists’ acrylic paints and more traditional oil paints. He also has done research in water pipeline coatings, especially showing the problems in adhesion measurements and the subsequent limitations in predicting corrosion protection. He also has studied paint stripping and applied   the Flory-Rehner Equation and the Griffith Fracture Criterion to paint stripping.

Prof. Croll has received the prestigious Mattiello Lecture award in 2012 from the American Coatings Association. He also has provided service to the coatings community. He is on the Editorial Review Board of “Progress in Organic Coatings” and “Journal of Coatings Technology Research” and has been a Reviewer for J. Coll. Inter. Sci., Langmuir, J. Applied Polym. Sci., J. Mater. Sci., ASTM, and other journals.  He also has been on many organizing committees: Coatings Science International, conference; 9th International Conference on Composite Science and Technology, April’ 2013, Sorrento, Italy; and the 10th International Conference on Composite Science and Technology, Instituto Superior Técnico, Lisbon, Portugal, September’ 2015 (International Scientific & Advisory Board). Prof. Croll also has provided consulting to local, national and international companies.as well as providing education in coatings science to industrial companies and professional societies.

Dr. Croll will receive the Tess Award from Dr. Christopher L. Soles, Chair of the PMSE Division, in August, 2017 during the 254th National Meeting of the American Chemical Society in Washington, DC.  An evening reception in honor of the Tess award recipient and other PMSE and POLY award winners also will be held.

Dr. Stuart Croll

Past Winners


1999 Mitchell A. Winnik
1998 Loren W. Hill
1997 Werner J. Blank
1996 John K. Gillham
1995 John L. Gardon
1994 Werner Funke
1993 Larry F. Thompson
1992 Ray A. Dickie
1991 Kenneth L. Hoy
1990 Walter K. Asbeck
1989 Theodore Provder
1988 Zeno W. Wicks, Jr.
1987 Marco Wismer
1986 Williams D. Emmons