The Eastman Chemical Student Award in Applied Polymer Science is given to recognize outstanding individual achievements and note-worthy contributions to coatings science, technology and engineering.


The Eastman Chemical Student Award consists of $1,600 and an engraved plaque and is presented during the evening reception at the ACS National Meeting.  All six nominees will present at the Eastman Chemical Award Symposium, during which the award winner will be selected based on the quality of the written application and oral presentation.


This award was established in 1985 as the Sherwin Williams Award in Applied Polymer Science.  It continued to be supported by the Sherwin Williams Company until 1996. ICI provided continuing support for this prestigious award from 1997 through 2008. AkzoNobel supported this award from 2009 to 2013.

Currently, Eastman Chemical Company sponsors the award and the symposium for the nominated students.


Graduate students, either currently in graduate school or not more than one year beyond graduation, are invited to submit entries.


The submission should include an abstract and a preprint of up to two pages conforming to the former PMSE preprint format (supplied upon request).  Up to six finalists will be selected based on the scientific merit of the submitted papers. Out-of-pocket expenses of up to $900 will be available for each finalist to attend the ACS meeting and present his or her paper in the 2017 Eastman Chemical Award Symposium within the PMSE program.

About Our Sponsor

Eastman is a global specialty chemical company that produces a broad range of products found in items people use every day. With a portfolio of specialty businesses, Eastman works with customers to deliver innovative products and solutions while maintaining a commitment to safety and sustainability. Its market-driven approaches take advantage of world-class technology platforms and leading positions in attractive end-markets such as transportation, building and construction and consumables. Eastman focuses on creating consistent, superior value for all stakeholders. As a globally diverse company, Eastman serves customers in approximately 100 countries. The company is headquartered in Kingsport, Tennessee, USA and employs approximately 14,000 people around the world. For more information, visit www.eastman.com.

“Eastman Chemical is pleased to partner with the PMSE Division of the ACS to recognize outstanding student achievement in the field of polymers and materials research,” said Chris Killian, Vice President of Specialty Products Technology for Eastman. “In addition, Eastman views sponsorship of this award as a tremendous opportunity to encourage the development and recognition of young scientists.”

2016 Award Winner: Dr. Kenneth Mineart

North Carolina State University, NIST

The PMSE Division is pleased to announce that Dr. Kenneth Mineart is the winner of the 2016 Eastman Chemical Student Award in Applied Polymer Science.  This Award, sponsored by Eastman Chemical Company and administered by the PMSE Division, was given for the best paper presented at the Eastman Chemical Award Symposium as part of the PMSE program at the Fall 2016 National ACS Meeting in Philadelphia.

Dr. Mineart completed his doctorate in Materials Science and Engineering at North Carolina State University where his Ph.D. advisor was Professor Richard J. Spontak.  Dr. Mineart is currently employed at the National Institute for Standards and Technology.  The title of his paper, presented at the recent Fall ACS Meeting in Philadelphia, PA, was “Extending the Versatility of Thermoplastic Elastomers: From Physical Blending to Chemical Functionalization.”

The plaque as the winner of the 2016 Eastman Chemical Student Award will be presented to Dr. Mineart at the Joint PMSE/POLY Awards Reception at the Spring 2017 ACS Meeting in San Francisco, CA.  As Dr. Mineart, due to his employment at NIST, is not allowed to receive any cash payment, a donation of $1600 to an appropriate cause in Dr. Mineart’s honor is currently being considered by the Executive Committee of the PMSE Division.

The other finalists who presented at the Award Symposium were Jongbok Lee (Texas A&M University), Chi Kin Lo (Georgia Institute of Technology), Kai Ma (Cornell University), Laura Murphy Pascual (University of Washington), and Bailey Risteen (Georgia Institute of Technology).

Dr. Kenneth Mineart

Past Winners


Eastman Chemical Student Award Winners (2014 – )

AzkoNobel Student Award Winners (2009 – 2013)

ICI Student Award Winners (1997 – 2008)

  • 2008 – Erin B. Vogel (Michigan State University)
  • 2007 – Kelly A. Burke (Case Western Reserve University)
  • 2006 – Megan L. Ruegg (University of California, Berkeley)
  • 2005 – Youngseon Choi (University of Michigan)
  • 2004 – Christopher J. Ellison (Northwestern University)
  • 2003 – Brian K. Johnson (Princeton University)
  • 2002 – Jinsang Kim (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
  • 2001 – Brian E. Priore (Carnegie Mellon University)
  • 2000 – Amy K. Burkoth-Poshusta (University of Colorado at Boulder)
  • 1999 – Shu Yang (Cornell University)
  • 1998 – David B. Hall (Northwestern University)
  • 1997 – Ellen C. Lee (University of California at Berkeley)

Sherwin-Williams Student Award Winners (1985 – 1996)

  • 1996 – Hong Yee Low (Case Western Reserve University)
  • 1995 – Valerie V. Sheares (Univ. of North Carolina – Chapel Hill)
  • 1994 – Michael L. Greenfield (University of California – Berkeley)
  • 1993 – Joan K. Vrtis (University of Massachusetts at Amherst)
  • 1992 – Nathan A. Mehl (Princeton University)
  • 1991 – Kathryn E. Uhrich (Cornell University)
  • 1990 – Lori P. Engel (University of Florida – Gainesville)
  • 1989 – Rubing Cai (University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill)
  • 1988 – Peter J. Ludovice (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
  • 1987 – Bruce M. Novak (California Institute of Technology)
  • 1986 – Krishna Venkataswamy (Case Western Reserve University)
  • 1985 – Stephen R. Holmes-Farley (Harvard University)